Magic Green Sauce & Pablano Carnitas Soft Tacos

I must say, this post was inspired by a pin I saw floating around Pinterest a while ago.  I was trying to come up with an interesting green salsa to pair with our left over pork shoulder for carnitas soft tacos.  The original recipe, courtesy of Savvy Style, Mindful Home, looked so nums that I just had to try it.  I have never had tomatillos before, but have always been curious.  So when I saw that it was combined with avocados I knew this was one pin I really was going to try. In true Jess fashion, I tweaked a few things and made it my own, and boy let me tell you it was super delish!

Fixin's for Magic

Fixin’s for Magic

Magic Green Sauce (aka Salsa Verde)
Printable Recipe
*this makes A TON of salsa, and if you don’t want to eat the whole jar by yourself in one sitting with a spoon, I would cut the recipe in half…

2 ripe avocados
6-7 small tomatillos (husks removed)
4-5 cloves of garlic
1 small white onion
1-2 jalapenos*
juice of 2 limes
large handful cilantro
1-1.5 tsp ancho chili pepper**
2 tsp roasted cumin**
salt to taste
2-3 pinches sugar, or 1-2 tbsp honey

*We used 1 jalapeno and felt it was a little too mild for our tastes.
**I added this after I made the salsa to give it a little bit more kick and depth of flavor.  Without it it’s very bright and fresh and very nums, but I like me some cumin!

I rough chopped all of the ingredients and put them in the food processor (or blender) and gave it a whirl until everything was blended together.  I then put it in a mason jar, thinking we would keep some in the fridge… that didn’t last long! (Although, it will keep for up to a week)

Sauce to Spare

Sauce to Spare

For dinner, I started some rice in the rice cooker, then chopped up an onion and two pablano peppers and sautéed them in some olive oil (not extra virgin, just the regular stuff which is a little more heat stable.  I would also suggest trying coconut oil) until almost soft.  I then added some ancho chili pepper (maybe about 1/4 tsp) and roasted cumin (about 1/2 tsp), salt and pepper.  I didn’t want to add too many more spices since the pulled pork was so liberally seasoned already.

Then I added the left over pork shoulder and let that warm up.  I poured in just enough water to deglaze the bottom of the pan and coat the pork with the spices, then let it evaporate.

Once the rice was done, Hubs added a handful of chopped cilantro, the juice of one lime,  and fluffed it together.  I warmed up some tortillas and we started serving.  I layered the cilantro-lime rice, pablano carnitas, a little sour cream, the magic green sauce on the tortilla and wrapped them up.  Wowzah!  It was so nums!

P1030202-002

Not only was this a fantastic leftover recipe, the salsa verde is really what pulled all of it together — hence, “Magic Green Sauce.”  You could also just eat it with chips… which we did.  I also think it would be good in breakfast burritos, or any kind of recipe that calls for a salsa.  I would also use it as a dressing on a salad with some red onion, seasoned chicken, ripe tomatoes, and some sweet corn.  Really you could put this sauce on anything.

I have also been contemplating a roasted version of this sauce.  What do you guys think?  Let me know in the comments.  🙂

One thought on “Magic Green Sauce & Pablano Carnitas Soft Tacos

Leave a Reply

