Oven Roasted Tomato Soup with Mozzarella & Grilled Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

To

I have a slight obsession with Tomato Soup.

As a child I hated the stuff.  You couldn’t get me within 10 miles of a bowl of the red soppy mess, much less try to make it the star of a meal.  Well, twenty-some years later and an evening filled with family, friends, a grandiose meal served by wenches, and men dressed in armor speeding towards each other on valiant steeds changed all that nonsense (I took my mom and Auntie to Medieval Times the first time they visited me).  The full course meal was served with a soup that the child in me screamed to get away from — that’s right, tomato.  The grown-up me (I don’t think adult would exactly apply here) was like “Get over yourself and try it…”  Actually, those may have been my mother’s words, not grown-up me…

Anywho, I did.  And it. Was. Amazing.

Why?!?  Why had this been missing from my life all these years?!?  How did I not know the wonderful concoction sitting in front of me in a bent and banged up metal bowl was… heaven. In. My. Mouth?!?

Needless to say, I have loved tomato soup since that day and judge a sandwich shop by how nums it’s tomato soup is.

However, with all this wonderfulness in a bowl, I have never tried to make a homemade version…

Until now.

Thanks to Pinterest (that forbidding black hole of a time suck!), I found a lovely recipe that I believed would suffice as a guide in my attempt to make the tomato-y goodness at home.  I have adapted this recipe and added a nummy sandwich.

So, here we go!  My first recipe!  YAY! [round of applause, please.]

Printable Recipe

First, I started out with eight vine ripe tomatoes cut into eight pieces each and placed them on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper.

P1020726-001

Vine Ripe Tomatoes

Then, because I had them and they were getting wilty, I cut 4 small celery whites (the part at the very heart of the stock) into 1 inch pieces and added them to the tomatoes.
Next I cut two small onions into quarters and scattered them around the baking sheet, and added four large garlic cloves, halved, to the sheet.
I drizzled olive oil over the top of my veggies and sprinkled them with salt and fresh cracked pepper.

P1020732-001

Tomatoes, celery, onions, garlic, olive oil, salt, and fresh cracked pepper. Yum!

I roasted my veggies in a pre-heated oven at 400° F (the original recipe calls for 200°… Celsius.  Thankfully I realized the oven was not hot enough when I initially opened it to commence roasting…) for about 40 minutes (the tomatoes almost looked dry, but they were sizzling and juicy!).

P1020758-001

Post-roast

After the roasting concluded, I poured the entire sheet of veggies into a soup pot with a few sprigs of thyme and a bay leaf.  I added about 2 cups of chicken stock, brought it up to a boil, and simmered the soup for 20-25 minutes.

P1020761-001

Simmery goodness.

While the soup was simmering I browsed Pinterest started on the sandwiches.  We had white bread left over from pudgy-pies this weekend, so I ended up using that.  I spread butter on the outside of each slice and (very lightly) Dijon mustard on the inside.  I piled a good salty deli ham on top, added a few slices of mozzarella and threw them in a warmed frying pan to get brown and melty.  I rested a smaller frying pan on top to mush the sandwiches down a bit, so they had that pressed deli shop feel.

P1020764-001

Ham and Mozzarella Pre-Grill

After the soup was done simmering I poured the contents of the soup pot into a food processor (don’t overfill the food processor — no liquid over the top of the blade handle, it makes a mess.  Trust me…) and processed until smooth.  Hubs finished the sandwiches for me and I served up the soup in small bowls, topped with two slices of mozzarella.

Roasted Tomato Soup

Roasted Tomato Soup with Mozzarella & Grilled Ham and Cheese

Heaven. In. My. Mouth.

The bright, fresh taste of vine ripened tomatoes and the salty goodness of the ham complimented each other perfectly.  And despite the disaster in the kitchen (remember what I said about the food processor…), it was totally worth it.

P1020768-001

Super Nums.

4 thoughts on “Oven Roasted Tomato Soup with Mozzarella & Grilled Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

  1. Pingback: Pulled Pork Shoulder | motivated maybes

Leave a Reply

